Finish or Fail

I have a list of unfinished projects as long as my arm. It’s taken me a while to develop the discipline necessary to see my goals through to the end. So, this week’s post will be all about the various causes of project failure that used to plague me, years ago.

Of course, this list is not exhaustive, nor are these categories mutually exclusive. Readers are more than welcome to contribute their own insights.

  • Feature creep. This one hardly needs explanation, and has been the bane of my existence more than once. Too many times have I been unable to resist the pull of flashy features that only served to broaden the scope of my project to such a degree that I could not possibly finish it.
  • Massive changes to the system. A particular game called Wing comes to mind. (This was, in fact, yet another precursor to Gateway.) I had a nearly-finished game engine, support for exciting environments and missions, and a story ready to go. My younger brain thought that it would be a wise idea to upgrade the core graphics engine I had written to something more modern. Instead, all that ever became of Wing was a whole lot of shader bugs and rendering issues. While I could have easily reverted to previous, working versions, I had become so disenchanted with the problems I was having that I ultimately dropped the project. (Fortunately, a lot of the AI and flight mechanics code now reside in Gateway, which has saved me a lot of duplicated effort. So, it wasn’t a waste.)
  • Lack of design. This was an important lesson to learn. Many of my failed game projects began with visions of flashy graphics, advanced particle or rendering effects, or even a single unique gameplay mechanic. Having not given any thought into these projects other than, “this feature is going to be really cool”, they were, of course, doomed to disappear, not having a drop of substance. Since then, I’ve learned that quick, graphical demos are a great way to showcase flashy effects, and that you should have a solid plan in mind before touching a single line of code.
  • Lack of commitment. Being a game dev hobbyist means you’re free to work on whatever you want. I’m constantly being harassed by new and exciting ideas, even as I work on Gateway. Even a well-planned-out game isn’t guaranteed to be completed if you can’t pick your projects wisely. The trick is to choose something that you know you can complete. Initially, this should be something simple, and as you gain experience, you can take on the big ones.
  • Too much commitment. Or, in other words, learn how to take breaks. Your game isn’t going anywhere. Contrary to popular belief, your passion for your project will not dissolve if you set it aside for a week. In fact, you’re likely to return to it refreshed and excited as ever. Constantly pressuring yourself to work on it without disengaging for a while is a sure way to get sick of your project real fast, in favour of some other shiny jewel.

Originally, my failed project, Wing, was about a group of young anarchists trying to buck the system and disrupt a benign, powerful empire simply for fun, when things get out of hand and they find themselves being actively hunted for their increasingly risky crimes. For your viewing pleasure, here are two screenshots. The resemblance to Gateway is fairly apparent if you look closely.

Three established friends test the player's ability to face intense combat odds.

Three established friends test the player’s ability to face intense combat odds.

The player dives low to avoid being caught on radar.

The player dives low to avoid being caught on radar.

GN

Leave a Reply

