July 5 — Where I’m At

It’s only been a week since my last update, but there’s been a lot of good progress. I’ll keep this quick since there’s a few other things I’d like to tackle this evening. So, here we go:

  • Voice recording is nearly, nearly done. Unfortunately, I didn’t reach my goal of having all of the recording done by the end of the weekend. A lot was done this week, but I’m still looking for an actor for the last part (Admiral Banks). All of the other parts have been recorded, though, which means that I can go ahead and build the first eight missions.
  • Improved the cockpit. I decided that even my meager art skills couldn’t excuse the poor quality of the existing design. I spent a few days building and texturing a new cockpit model, which is shown below.

shot-1

  • Improved the missile system. The new system requires players to be smarter about how they launch their missiles; launches that are made too close to a target or not facing the target enough will only result in wasted ordnance.
  • Addressed a number of outstanding bugs and gameplay issues. All minor things, but there’s nothing like a quick demonstration to a colleague to make you realize there’s a lot that needs fixing. (“oops, that shouldn’t happen”, “still gotta fix that”, “that’s boring so I’ve left it until later”, etc.)

GN

Leave a Reply

